The Remote Voting Delegate

December 28, 2018

This document, which is under development, will inform the groups and Intergroups about WSO plans to initiate voting from a distance, in real time – as the Business Conference is underway. 2019 will be our first venture into this type of delegate participation.  The information you find here will pertain to our ABC in Malmö, Sweden. There will likely be new procedures and instructions in the subsequent years.

At the moment, the entirety of the process is being developed. We would rather work out most of the details before we post any instruction. Instruction on remote voting will likely be offered by the Website and Database Committee, while training for the delegate role will be facilitated by the Delegate Training Subcommittee.

For now, your group or Intergroup may want to focus on selecting a Delegate, and perhaps an Alternate Delegate who would agree to participate as best they can, following the proceedings on a phone call, or online, as outlined by the Website Committee.

The Registration Process

January 9,2019

Once a group’s delegate has been selected, the next step is to register to participate in the ABC. Before you begin, jot down your group or Intergroup WSO registration number. If your group has not registered yet, complete that process at adultchildren.org, first. Registration happens at the website, acaworldconvention.org. At the bottom of the homepage, tap the box that says Register Your Attendance Here. This will lead you to the registration form.

First you are asked to select the number of persons registering. Keep it at 1. If you are registering another person, do that separately. Next, you are asked for your name, location and contact information. When you submit, you will be led to the next page.

Next, there are three events to respond to. These are the World Convention, the Business Conference, and the Swedish Conference. You are required to respond to each one before you can advance. Your choices are basically: Attending or Not attending. As a remote delegate, it is likely that you will not be attending the convention, nor the Swedish conference. Please indicate that you will be a Delegate for the ABC.

After making your selections you will be asked about lodging. As a remote delegate, you will not have to choose any lodging. Tap, Next, and you will go to a summary of your information. Finally, you tap Book.

At this point you will be asked to tap Delegate ABC to complete the process. All delegates will provide the requested information – a way for the Delegate Training Subcommittee to contact you. At this point you can indicate that you are a remote delegate. Additionally, if you choose to ‘share your information with other delegates’, you can learn who else will be participating in the conference.

Congratulations. You are a registered delegate. Next, the technical information about participating remotely will be offered.

***

Note:  the ABC will be held in Sweden, on Thursday and Friday, April 25th and 26th. While the actual timing of the various activities of the Business Conference has not been determined, the time differences are not subject to change. Here are a listing of concurrent time frames:

  • 9:00am to 5:00pm Central European Summer Time
  • 3:00am to 11:00am Eastern Daylight Time
  • 2:00am to 10:00am Central Daylight Time
  • 1:00am to 9:00am Mountain Daylight Time
  • Midnight to 8:00am Pacific Daylight Time

 

Erin

Chair, Delegate Training Subcommittee

dtsc@acawso.org

Check back, as this document will be developed.